Vintage Roadracing Mission Statement

AHRMA’s mission is to recreate and preserve the vintage era of roadracing, including the sights, sounds, smells and camaraderie. Many consider the 50-year time span – from the 1930s to the mid-‘70s – the golden age of roadracing. We recognize that the oldest of these motorcycles are the least available; therefore only small numbers are likely to participate in most events, and some events may have no examples. However, AHRMA is committed to maintaining a venue to showcase these early motorcycles, no matter how few.

Vintage Superbike Mission Statement

AHRMA’s mission is to recreate and preserve the look and feel of this important era of U.S. Roadracing and to showcase these unique machines. While Superbikes were based on the same production bikes available in the showroom, period performance parts are extremely rare or even unavailable; therefore, a limited amount of modern replacement parts are allowed in the interest of safety, cost containment and competition.

AHRMA also offers Modern Roadracing classes. Click here for details.

Refunds will be issued only to pre-entered riders who have filed a Refund/Credit Request Form with the AHRMA National office. A refund form is in the Handbook, may be obtained from the office, or can be downloaded here. The form may be filed by mail, email, fax, or the office may be telephoned with the relevant information. Please see AHRMA Handbook rule 4.7 for more details.

Racing Classes

The following classes are offered. Check the AHRMA Handbook for complete details of class requirements..

500 Premier: 500cc four-stroke OHV or OHC, and 750cc sidevalve machines built before December 31, 1968.

500 Grand Prix: 500 Premier-type bikes with the additional restrictions of 285 lbs. dry weight, stock piston stroke and maximum five-speed gearboxes.

350 Grand Prix: 350cc four-strokes; 350cc air-cooled, single-cylinder two-strokes; 250cc liquid-cooled, single-cylinder two-strokes; and 250cc air-cooled, twin-cylinder two-strokes, manufactured before December 31, 1968.

250 Grand Prix: 250cc four-strokes; 250cc air-cooled, single-cylinder two-strokes; 175cc liquid-cooled, single-cylinder two-strokes; and 175cc air-cooled, twin-cylinder two-strokes, manufactured before December 31, 1968.

200 Grand Prix Plus: This class combines a variety of engine designs and displacements between 125cc and 250cc, based on an index of performance.

Formula 750: Works 750cc four-stroke machines, including accurate replicas of Formula 750 machines of the early 1970s. Also includes machines not eligible for Sportsman 750.

Formula 500: Two-stroke and certain four-stroke machines up to 500cc, grouped on an index-of-performance basis, with a December 31, 1972, cutoff.

Formula 250: Two-stroke air-cooled machines, including singles up to 360cc and twins up to 250cc, with a December 31, 1972, cutoff.

Formula 125: Air-cooled, twin-shock, steel-framed Grand Prix motorcycles up to 125cc, plus certain GP-kitted street and enduro machines.

Formula Vintage: Open to machines eligible for 500 Premier, 500 Grand Prix, Formula 750, Formula 500 and Sportsman 750; other specific models are eligible, see the Handbook for the list.

BEARS®: The British European American Racing Series for certain two-cylinder machines built up through 1968 and competing under Formula 750 specifications.

Class C: Intended for AMA “Class C” machines up to and including those manufactured December 31, 1951, as a ‘51 model.

Class C Handshift is a championship class run together with, but scored separately from, Class C.

Pre-1940 Grand Prix: 1940-and-earlier Grand Prix or modified street machines, including 500cc single-cylinder OHV and OHC and 750cc sidevalve machines.

Classic Sixties: A class for 1960 and earlier (or like model) Grand Prix/Clubman 350-500cc four-stroke OHV and OHC machines, or 750cc sidevalve, in basically standard form.

Classic Sixties 650 is open to 1960s-era 650cc OHV and 883cc sidevalve machines.

Sportsman: Streetbike-based four-stroke machines manufactured prior to December 31, 1972, divided into 350cc500cc and 750cc classes.

Novice Historic Production: Novice riders on 1972-and-earlier production street machines with the standard OEM frame, swingarm, forks and handlebar mounts. Engines use the original OEM bore and stroke. Classes are Lightweight (four-strokes up to 500cc, 250cc two-strokes and certain 350cc two-strokes) and Heavyweight (four-strokes up to 750cc and 350-500cc two-strokes).

Vintage Sidecar (SC1): Front-exit sidecars. Air-cooled, one- or two-cylinder, two- or four-stroke, built before December 31, 1967. Two-stroke piston-port only, 350cc maximum. Four-stroke, 650cc overhead valve and 750cc sidevalve maximum.

Stock Production Sidecar (SC2): Front-exit sidecars. Air-cooled, one- or two-cylinder, two- or four-stroke engines, built before December 31, 1972. Two-stroke, piston-port only, 500cc maximum. Four-stroke, 750cc maximum.

Lost Era Sidecar (SC3): Front-exit sidecars. Air-cooled, two- or three-cylinder two-stroke, two-, three- or four-cylinder four-stroke engines, built before December 31, 1977. Two-stroke, piston-port or reed-valve, 550cc maximum. Four-stroke, 836cc maximum, two valves per cylinder.

Formula Classic Sidecar (SC4): Front- or rear-exit sidecars. Air- or water-cooled, two- or four-stroke engines, built before December 31, 1982. Two-stroke, 900cc maximum. Four-stroke, 1300cc maximum; multi-valve engines permitted.

Modern Sidecar F1 & F2 run under FIM rules.

Vintage Superbike: Three classes for motorcycles built up to model-year 1982, retaining as close to “production” appearance as possible. Classes are Heavyweight (unlimited displacement twins and pushrod triples, and displacement-limited fours and sixes), Middleweight (unlimited displacement singles, with limited pushrod twins, OHC twins, pushrod triples and OHC fours) and Lightweight (smaller singles, twins and multis, using a performance index).

Next Gen Superbike: Superbikes based on late 1980s to model-year 1992 US-model production bikes.

Next Gen 2: 1990s to early-2000s US Superbikes.